Don't spend a dollar until you can do 100 push ups

Comments

• morticiamorticia Member Posts: 104
    At my athletic peak I could only do 60.  I need to get to where I can do 100.  I would feel really good about myself.  My upper body strength is super pathetic. 
  • CaptVereCaptVere Silver Member Posts: 1,592
    edited August 2012
    I've been working out for about 5 months now and I've been doing this since the start.  I try and start most mornings doing some push ups before I get in the shower.  I just like doing it to start off the day.  I have felt the burn in my chest for sure.

I've since moved up to a more structured work out.  I swim 5 times a week and work out 3 times a week doing mostly body weight exercises and rowing.  I know it's a lot of cardio and such, but I am developing a passion for swimming now and looking at sprint swimmers I wouldn't mind my body looking like that.  I want more of an athletic build as opposed to bulky.  My goal is to do several sets of pull ups and chins up without using the pull up machine to remove some weight.  I still need some assistance on these.  Then I'll move on to adding some weight I hope.

• x1134xx1134x Member Posts: 1,229
    I just finally got so sick of the add a plate dumbbell set ... I just spent $100 on a set of 2-15lbs, 2-20lbs, 2-25lbs dumbbells. I really need a shorty standard circumference barbell. hoping to find one on Craigslist.
    Yeah I figured this out quick, I use my olympic dumbells for the heavy ones, I can make up to 75LB use-ables with the 5lbs plates I have, but use the neoprene set I have 3,5,8,10,12,15,and 20s for the light ones.  My wife uses the little guys.  Bought a rack and put casters on it so they move easy.
    Most women unwittingly ruin the sex as a reward by being so shitty in bed during the sex, that it becomes a form of punishment rather than a reward. - Athol Kay.
  • alphabrewalphabrew Member Posts: 3