How to get 9 year old fit?

Comments

• TemplarTemplar WashingtonSilver Member Posts: 3,371
    Snacks are the enemy. Exercise and balanced meals are his friends. If you can eliminate them, it will be easier. Often snacking for kids is because of habit (we always have a snack after school) or boredom. Yes, the growing bodies and brains can thrive on three balanced meals a day without throwing all kinds of extra food at them.
    Tennee
  • amblrgirlamblrgirl ATXSilver Member Posts: 1,328
    I'm no expert, but I thought it was considered more balanced to eat 5-6 smaller portions a day rather than only 3 bigger meals. I get hungry every 2.5 - 3 hours. I can't imagine getting by on only 3 meals a day and I'm not sure my kids would go for that either. We try to keep snacks healthy and on the smaller side, but I think my kids would feel grumpy and lethargic without a little something between meals. I know I do.

I agree with the boredom thing, though. If they're bored, they do seek out extra snacks, which to me is just a cue that it's time to find something fun and active for them to do.
    amblrgirltx@gmail.com
    Fitocracy: atxchick

Enneagram 6w5, married to a 5
    spartacusMariaWinter
    Hunger is a function of habit, hormone and what type of nutrient you are eating (carbs vs protein vs fats). Meals higher in carbs (as the American diet has been for far too long) don't keep us satisfied (satiated) very long.There are all kinds of people who push 5-6 smaller meals, but the science really isn't as supportive as one would think. I don't just push it to other people - I live it myself and even grew up with 5 brothers and who seldom had snacks unless there was a party/social function or it was the summer and we were outside tearing the world to pieces. People do adapt to changes in timing of food intake. It isn't overnight, but they do get over it and the "programming" changes.
    Angeline
    edited May 27
    Templar said: