Weights for over 50, my experience

EinManEinMan Silver Member Posts: 638
I just wanted to advise on my experience.  As everyone says, my experience is that every man should lift.  The rise in testosterone and the feeling of being masculine is remarkable.

I have been lifting for 2 years, but have been out of commission for 10 months of that time from 2 separate injuries. They didn't require a doctor, but I had to lay off for long periods.   Even going up gradually in weight on the bench press from no weights to 40 on each side was not gradual enough to prevent injuries.

This time I am going for more reps and lower weights.  Only 10 lbs on both sides until I can do 3 sets of 20 before I add any weight.  I'm still able to fatigue my muscles and so far no injuries.  What I think is happening, is that I'm strengthening all of the little muscles that don't get enough exercise, such that even though the bigger muscles can do the heavy lifting, the small ones get injured in the process. So far so good.
fitandfun

Comments

• TenneeTennee Next Stop: AwesomevilleSilver Member Posts: 5,963
    edited March 30
    "Fall down seven times, stand up eight"  Japanese Proverb

How will you live well today?
  • HildaCornersHildaCorners Winter? You call *that* winter?Gold Women Posts: 3,377
    I'm well over 50 and I've worked plenty with weights ... woman style.

The key is to not push too hard. Don't work to your maximum, work to about 80%, then stop. Over time, that 80% will grow.

There is an element of "you can't improve, only maintain," but that only applies if you're at or near your peak. If not, you can improve to your peak (which won't be as high as when you were 25). Then you work out so your peak drops as little as possible, though it will drop over the years.