Triage, 13 years sexless marriage

Comments

• TimboTimbo Silver Member Posts: 33
    @amblrgirlthanks for the comments. It's a work in progress. My parents are a big issues that I have struggled with for years. Too complex but I'm working on it.
    And with regard to divorce I got very close earlier this year but realised I couldn't put that burden onto my children; their happiness comes before mine.

@Reborn good point about the IVF vs menopause, hadn't looked at it that way.
    Once a codependent, always a codependent. I am suspicious of your claim that you used to be, especially since you say therapy didn't help you much. Perhaps you have learned to manage it better?
    I will be honest that I'm no expert on co-dependancy, but I don't feel that I'm that way any more. Didn't even talk about it in therapy. I am nothing like I used to be at age 19 when I was jealous, nervous about my girlfriend being away from me, scared she might leave me, total co-dependancy. Not a jealous thought in my head now, love having time to myself, in fact I prefer to be on my own in general and used to fantasise about my wife leaving me!
    When I say my wife is BPD I can't diagnose her, she just has a lot of the traits, but sometimes it's evident, other times she is quite normal. In terms of MAPing it's not important anyway.
     "working hard to be an excellent husband" I know what you mean - perhaps I meant "to become a better person so that I am an excellent husband".
    You, somehow, have to not think of sex as a "reward" for all the hard work. It's what we call a "covert contract". You are ANGRY because you've done your half of the (imaginary) contract and she seems unaware of what she's supposed to deliver. Unfortunately you have to drop that way of thinking.