Starting off on the right foot

LostOneLostOne Member Posts: 45
Hey everyone,

I probably should have posted in here before jumping into the Emergency 911 board, but looking back I suppose it worked as intended. Either way, I'd like to post a little about myself here, as I hope to use this forum as I continue my MAP and start a new(ish) life.

I'm 27 years old, and my wife of four years and I filed for divorce today, jointly, through a mediator. It's going to be a long road, but we got a lot out of the way, and so far we're doing okay at staying amicable. I hope it stays that way. I am retaining primary physical custody of our two kids - my 2.5 yo son and 1 yo daughter. I have absolutely no idea how to function as a single father (though I can keep the kids fed, clothed, and clean), and it's something I never wanted to have to do, but here I am.

I'm going back to college to complete my BS in Economics, which will take me another two years. I'm a veteran, so the GI Bill will support me financially through this, and I have investments to supplement. The program is solid, with a 100% placement rate, usually with firms in the minerals or energy sector. I plan to take this two years to become the best man I can be, and put my life back on the right track.

My biggest concern at this point is a perceived lack of emotional support I know there are people who care about me, some much more than I ever realized until going through this process, but I still feel disconnected from people, and it's difficult to ask people for help. I am seeing a counselor to help me through the worst of it, but I really need to rebuild a social circle, something that my STBX discouraged over the course of our marriage. Right now it feels like I will never be able to make new friends, never be able to handle dating again, etc. I know that's silly, because I meet new people every day and can carry on a good conversation and build rapport, but the perception bothers me, and I need to address it.