From Red to DHV Project - Making my Kid's Xmas Present

IrishGypsyIrishGypsy UKSilver Member Posts: 407
I've decided to improve my rubbish DIY skills by creating a wooden height chart to mount on the wall of my kid's bedrooms.

But this won't be just any wall height chart. For each measurement, we'll add a photo of that day and attach it to the wall chart.

Not only that, but as I have extensive video editing experience, basic Photoshop experience, (and all the required tools), I'll also create an animated 4K video slideshow (one separate set for each year) and burn them onto printable blu-ray discs (along with proper blu-ray cases and custom-create case covets).

I'll then keep the blu-rays on a shelf that'll be attached to the top of the wall chart (one disc per year up to the age of 18).

I have some reclaimed pallets I can strip for practicing on and my wife has agreed to help with any art (numbers, drawings, etc.)

I'd like to use this topic as a place to garner feedback from woodwork pros like @nubby or anyone else and post up progress pics.

This'll be my first proper attempt at a 'big' woodworking project, so all help is genuinely appreciated.

I have access to:
* A Makita jigsaw
* Chisel set (+ honing guide and whetstone)
* Handsaws
* Clamps
* Drill
* Finishing Sander (with 120 paper)
* Other grades of sandpaper
* Woodglue 

TenneefrillyfunJellyBeanquanyinnubbyHildaCorners

Comments

• Adam_SAdam_S Queenslander!Silver Member Posts: 1,893

Do you have an idea of the sort of thing you want to make?

If you're after doing something like this...

...then the easiest way to do it that I can think of is to get some pre-cut pine board from the hardware store, sand it, put the marks on and then finish it with a nice stain.

Here's a fairly decent how to page.

https://www.wilkerdos.com/2013/06/diy-growth-chart-ruler/